Between 1635 and 1644, Leuven glazier Jan de Caumont made 41 stained glass windows for the bays of the four ambulatories at the abbey church. Each window depicts a scene from the life of Norbert of Xanten and bears the abbey’s motto Ne quid nimis (Nothing too much), a saying that expresses the essence of monastery life to the canons. All windows also bear the abbey’s emblem: the so-called ‘park flower’.
This Norbertine abbey is not only a place of peace and quiet excellent for a walk amongst its parkland, tree-lined avenues, ponds and meadows, it is also a valuable heritage site with a captivating history. The refurbished halls of the abbey have housed PARCUM since 2017, a museum that puts on themed exhibitions on the crossroads between religion, art and culture, often showing pieces from churches, abbeys and monasteries that have never been on display before.